The Faculty of Arts of the University of Maribor offers 12 fields of study across 12 departments.

Scientific Research Institute

The mission of the Faculty of Arts of the University of Maribor is to become an educational and research institution that strives for excellence in education and multidisciplinarity, and works towards the strengthening of democratic and ethical values and the holistic development of society.

The University has developed 12 fields of study across 12 departments:

  1. The Department of English and American Studies
  2. The Department of Philosophy
  3. The Department of Geography
  4. The Department of German Studies
  5. The Department of Hungarian Language and Literature
  6. The Department of Pedagogy
  7. The Department of Translation Studies
  8. The Department of Psychology
  9. The Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures
  10. The Department of Sociology
  11. The Department of History of Art
  12. The Department of History

The Faculty of Arts, as its fundamental mission, seeks to develop scientific research across the humanities, social sciences, educational sciences and the arts, translating this into education.

Scientific research work is focused on project work aimed at achieving visibility and research excellence, something which is reflected in the work of programme groups and their participation in national and international projects.


More projects


More symposia


Introducing our Research Centers.

Skip to content